Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Marco Rubio Secretary of State U.S. Department of State 2201 C Street, NW Washington, DC 20520

March 27, 2025

Dear Secretary Rubio,

In light of Azerbaijan's continued aggression toward Armenia, its occupation of sovereign Armenian territory, the ongoing arbitrary detention and abuse of Armenian POWs, and the destruction of the region's ancient Armenian Christian cultural heritage, we write to urge the Department of State to enforce statutory prohibitions on U.S. military assistance to Azerbaijan pursuant to Section 907 of the FREEDOM Support Act [U.S Public Law No: 102-511].

Over a year has passed since Azerbaijan's military assault on the Armenian population of Nagorno Karabakh (Artsakh) forcibly displaced the region's 120,000 Armenians in what has been widely described as an act of ethnic cleansing. Having faced no material consequences or accountability for its actions, Azerbaijan continues to undermine efforts to ensure a just, durable, and dignified peace in the region through its ongoing aggression against Armenia.

In 2002, Congress granted the President the authority to waive Section 907 prohibitions on military assistance to Azerbaijan on an annual basis when determined to be in the national security interests of the United States. While every successive Administration exercised this waiver authority, President Biden, in the last year of his Administration, finally chose to enforce Section 907 restrictions. This was in response to considerable bipartisan and bicameral Congressional pressure. This includes the Senate's unanimous adoption of S.3000, the Armenian Protection Act, a bill that you co-led with Senator Peters and Senator Cassidy.

Azerbaijan's authoritarian regime has routinely abused the privilege of U.S. assistance, engaging in conduct inconsistent with the values and national security interests of the United States. Azerbaijan's defiance of U.S. warnings to cease its blockade and refrain from military action against Nagorno-Karabakh demonstrated a clear disregard for U.S. efforts to mediate a lasting solution to the conflict. Furthermore, as Azerbaijan deepens its economic and energy ties with Russia and Iran, it is clear that Azerbaijan is not a reliable strategic partner to the United States in the region.

Amid the persistent threat of authoritarian expansionism throughout the region and across the world, it is imperative that the Trump Administration makes clear to governments that undermine U.S. interests that their actions will not be met with impunity – much less material financial support. Amid Azerbaijan's ongoing aggression against Armenia, the failure to hold Azerbaijan

accountable would not only risk normalizing Azerbaijan's actions – but embolden U.S. rivals seeking to take advantage of our inaction.

As such, maintaining the suspension of U.S. military assistance to Azerbaijan, in accordance with Section 907, is both a moral imperative in light of Azerbaijan's crimes against the Armenian people and a strategic imperative at a crucial moment when U.S. credibility and authority is being aggressively challenged by our adversaries.

We thank you for your consideration and look forward to the opportunity to work with you on efforts to deter Azerbaijan's ongoing aggression – and ensure a just and dignified resolution to this humanitarian catastrophe in a manner that upholds the fundamental rights of Nagorno Karabakh's displaced Armenian population.

Sincerely,

Michael-V. Lawler

Member of Congress

Gus M. Bilirakis

Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens

Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr.
Member of Congress

Gabe Amo

Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Washington, DC 20515

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

10.Cll

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

James P. Me Donem

Josh Gottheimer
Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Jareph D. Marelle

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Jama Friedra

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Laura Friedman Member of Congress

Grace Meng
Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Lateefah Simon
Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. Jain

Take Auchincloss
Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Mike Quigley

Member of Congress

Washington, DC 20515

Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Young Kim

Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Vince Fong

Member of Congress

Dave Min

Member of Congress

Joyce Beatty

Member of Congress

Luz M Rivas

Member of Congress

Tom McClintock

Member of Congress

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr.

Member of Congress

John B. Larson

Member of Congress

Robert J. Menendez

Member of Congress

Jackson Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Lasteda flait

George Whitesides Member of Congress Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Greg Casar

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Barry Moore Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Washington, DC 20515

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Susie Lee

Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress